tabouleh

IMG_1788

Tabouleh is basically a parsley salad with a lemon vinaigrette.  It’s a beautiful salad, but for the first time on this blog, not really something I would make again… Eek!  So why post about the salad…it’s photogenic and I know some people were fans.  D gave it a 7/10.

The salad makes use of bulgur, which I haven’t worked with before.  Bulgur is high in fiber, manganese and vitamin B.  It’s not the name of a specific grain; it’s actually wheat kernels that have been parboiled, dried and ground into smaller sizes.  The recipe calls for the kernels to remain somewhat course, which I didn’t like, so I picked out the bulgur and simmered the kernels in boiling water to create a softer texture.  I also added quinoa since I wanted to make this into more of an entree.  Anyway, try the recipe  or let me know if you know of any better variations!  Also any recipes using bulgur would be more than welcome.  :)

Leave a Reply

